Slow cooker, where have you been all my life?

Posted: June 10, 2013 in Food
Tags: , , , , ,

Last year, I discovered slow cooking, and I have to say it’s been one of the best things I’ve done in recent times. One of the presents I received for my 30th the year before was a slow cooker, and towards the end of winter last year I finally got around to using it. After perfecting a chilli con carne fit for a Mexican king, this year I’ve been experimenting with other ingredients and recipes.

Slow cooker love

Behold my hearty chicken soup, the recipe for which can be found here (thank you Taste.com.au)

This soup reminds me so damn much of the chicken soup Dad would make for us when my brother and I were small, when he was home from work due to the weather. We’d come home from school on a day where the weather was horrendous and know that Dad would be making one of his soups, usually pea & ham or chicken, and a bowl of deliciousness would be waiting for us. I can tell you it made the long bus trip back from school a hell of a lot better when you knew something awesome would be at the other end.

Hearty chicken soup

This recipe was super easy to follow – you just bung all the ingredients in a large pot and simmer it for a couple of hours on the stove. The recipe says only 1 hour, but I did it for 2 to get the flavours more intense, and I used chicken thighs instead of legs.

As we speak I’m trying out a new recipe in the slow cooker – this time it’s beef and red wine casserole. Stay tuned for the results and the recipe (but only if it’s good)!

Stay Fit & Well,
Lisa x

Comments
  1. […] Harrison’s lunch. In this case it’s leftovers from last night’s dinner – homemade chicken and veg soup – served with toast. Harrison takes about half an hour to eat it as he also needs to attempt […]

  2. […] wine casserole. Success! In fact nothing I’ve done in the slow cooker has ever been a failure. This was my first post about it. The concept is perfect for busy mums – throw the ingredients in in the morning, 8-10hrs later […]

Leave a Reply

