Motivation, why have you forsaken me?

Posted: June 13, 2013 in Fitness
Tags: , , , ,

You know the feeling you get when you KNOW you really should do something, but you can’t muster the energy/enthusiasm/goddamn will to do it? It’s like trying to run through mud. Mental mud. That, my friends, is what I’m experiencing right now with the gym.

No motivation

This is probably due to several factors – I’ve long ago lost the kilos I wanted to lose, and I don’t want to lose anymore (otherwise: NO BOOBS. Which is not what anyone wants), and I’ve been switching up my routine pretty regularly but I haven’t done a fun run, or a road run, or even a long walk in ages. So it’s all gym, gym, gym 4-5 times a week, which for a long time I was really enjoying. Like, my-boyfriend-has-to-tell-me-NOT-to-go-to-the-gym-and-get-a-life enjoying it. But now I can definitely say I have run out of steam.

Help

Assistance required…

I’ve tried resting for a day or two, but I have too much pent-up energy and get antsy. I’ve tried ignoring it and just pushing myself and heading to the gym, but I start dreading it or get bored halfway through my workout. I change up my gym routine every day, doing weights one day, interval cardio the next, HIIT the day after. But nothing seems to make a difference. This has been going on for a few weeks now, getting progressively worse.

But recently I’ve read a few things that have got me thinking – specifically articles like this from the awesome Girls Gone Strong website, and this article from Mark’s Daily Apple. The concept of de-loading is not a new one to me, and I’ve experimented with it in the past, but not really with any sort of commitment. De-loading basically means you take some time off from the gym, or some time off from exercising entirely. But NOT the foam roller. THANK GOD. My foam roller is, like, my God.

So, next week I’ll be taking a week off from the gym. It will make me irritable. It will frustrate me. It will make me feel soooo unhealthy. It will probably annoy my boyfriend tremendously because of the aforementioned reasons. BUT, if it will get me back to the gym with enthusiasm, then I’m giving it a go!

Gotye says it all...for a week anyway

What are your suggestions for ways to change up your gym routine and keep motivated when you just want to maintain?

Stay Fit & Well,

Lisa x

Leave a Reply

