Keep calm and primal scream …

Posted: July 3, 2013 in Wellbeing
Tags: , ,

I’ve posted a lot about food and fitness, but I realised the other day that I’ve sorely neglected one element of this blog: wellbeing.

I was recently forced to look at how I handle stress (due to being under quite a lot of it!) and I realised, like most people I suppose, that I don’t handle it very well at all. On the surface I might, but underneath I am a raging mass of anxiety. The stressful period I’m coming out of at the moment was caused mainly by work, but also by my upcoming trip to the UK. You might groan at that, and think ‘what could be stressful about a holiday?!’ but I tell you, a LOT can. This time I’m away for three & a half weeks, with no one to cover me at work, I have to work a bit while I’m over there, along with meeting all Rob’s family and friends and trying to make a good impression AND catch up with all my own friends. I have been scheduling like mad! I even have a spreadsheet for all the lunch dates, dinner dates, drinks, weddings, planes and trains we have to catch. Yep, I am one of those super-organised control freaks. And I guess that’s one of the reasons why I am a massive stress-head at times.

This cat, it could totally be me. Blank, staring eyes and all.

This cat, it could totally be me. Blank, staring eyes and all.

To be fair to myself, I am rarely super-stressed, which makes it all the stranger when I am. This time I tried eliminating all my commitments for the most stressful week. We’re talking not going to the gym, not going out for dinner or drinks with friends, just working, eating and sleeping. I would say NOT the best idea, as I needed something to occupy my mind that wasn’t the stress.

Stressing out has made me realise some things:

  1. There is no point relying on plans – you can plan all you want, but stuff will always happen to change all your best-laid plans. Think about it – has there ever been a situation you’ve been in EVER that has gone EXACTLY to plan?
  2. It’s ok to talk about what’s stressing you out, but sometimes you don’t want to hear ‘this too shall pass’ – you just want a bloody good whinge!
  3. Wine helps, but only in moderation.
  4. Exercise can help, especially in getting aggression due to stress out.
  5. Not having such high expectations of yourself is a good habit to get into, but a very difficult one to maintain.
  6. Meditating might be a damn fine activity to start implementing into my weekly, if not daily life. I’ll keep you posted on that one.
Let's dance!

I love this SO. MUCH.

I think next time a period of stress comes around, I might just dance.

I’d love to hear how others deal with stress. It’s such a personal thing, but any ideas would be great. How do you deal with stressful times?

Stay Fit & Well,
Lisa x

Leave a Reply

