Meet my favourite fit chick …

Posted: July 11, 2013 in Fitness
Tags: , , , , , ,

One day soon I’ll post about my favourite bloggers in the food and fitness industry, but as a sneak peek I want you to meet Lau (aka Fierce For Life) – one awesome lady who inspires me on a regular basis. I was fortunate to work with Lau before she took the plunge and started working on Fierce For Life full time, and now she’s living the dream in Thailand, working on what she loves and making everyone she knows jealous.

I personally followed Lau’s 8 week program to get a Bangin’ Body and if you’re interested in fitness, want to change it up or get a new program you should definitely check it out. Lau even has a free guide you can download, and who doesn’t like free?!

I asked Lau to answer a couple of questions and I hope they inspire you as much as they did me.

Lau from Fierce For Life

The gorgeous Lau. What a stunner!

You’re the founder of Fierce For Life, a fitness business that incorporates personal training and coaching. What made you decide to branch out on your own?
I had always really wanted to get out of the 9-5 grind, but hadn’t been able to figure out how to do it. One day in early 2012, my husband (aka The Bearded One), who had recently struck out on his own, suggested I start building a health company that catered to women like me. Women who want to be fit and healthy and sexy and strong, but who either a) don’t know where to begin, or b) don’t want to kill themselves going on extreme fad diets or workout regimes. The idea stuck and within a few months we had created the company and started building a little group of loyal followers. At the end of January 2013, I left my day job, and ramped up everything I was offering through Fierce For Life. We’ve since moved to Thailand, which is exactly the kind of freedom I’d been looking for.

What’s your personal fitness philosophy?
Do what you love. Experiment, and do what makes your body feel and look its best. Don’t worry about what everyone else is doing, because their body is different to yours. Focus on reaching your goals, your desires and appreciating your body for the amazing tool it is.

Who are your health & fitness role models?
Let’s see… Molly Galbraith has rocketed to the top of the list in the last couple of weeks for her recent honesty and vulnerability: she has written some visceral, painful stuff on body image, perception and the constant pressure to look a certain way, and I really respect her for that. Jen Comas Keck is another – she’s always doing stuff that just seems fun and challenging to her, and I love that attitude. Krista from Stumptuous.com is frickin’ hilarious and I wish I was as smart and abrasive as she is.

What three things would you take with you if you were stranded on a desert island?
Does a person count as a thing? First would be The Bearded One, because obviously he’s a babe, and he’s also the closest I’ve ever come to a real-life MacGyver. Next up would be some sort of water-distillation tool, because YAY water. Finally, a machete because a) I like to say machete with a Mexican accent and 2) it would solve a lot of problems, like building shelter, getting firewood, killing dinner and opening the inevitable bounty of coconuts the island would give us.

What’s the one thing that anyone could do tomorrow to make a difference to their health?
Add as many veggies to each meal as possible. The more vegetables you eat, the more satisfied you will be, and the less likely you are to crave unhealthy food. Even if they’re from a freeze-pack, you’re still going to get a tonne of benefits from this.

Fit chicks rock :)

Fit chicks rock 🙂

Follow Fierce For Life on Facebook and Twitter for more inspiration.

Stay Fit & Well,
Lisa x

Comments
  1. […] last month I interviewed Lau from Fierce for Life about her life and her fitness business. Lau is a personal friend of mine, but I’ve also […]

Leave a Reply

