‘Bad’ things I’m doing right now that make me feel good …

Posted: July 16, 2013 in Fitness, Food, Wellbeing
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

So I’m no angel, I mean who is?! And I’ve realised lately I’ve been doing some things that people may term ‘bad’ for you, but these things actually make me feel awesome. And I thought I might share, because I’m kinda tired of the guilt and beating myself up over it. So I’m gonna own it, I’m gonna be proud, and there will be no more negative self-talk thank you very much.

Negative self-talk - ain't nobody got time fo dat!

Negative self-talk – ain’t nobody got time fo dat!

Here goes…

  • Eating chocolate every single day – That’s right, every goddamn day and I’m proud of it. BUT, I have a few squares a night of dark chocolate which is meant to be good for you, right? With the occasional blow-out on a KitKat Chunky which anyone who knows me knows is my weakness. And you know what – months of eating chocolate most nights has resulted in zero weight gain (in fact the exact opposite) and it just makes me feel good.
Kit Kat Chunky

My treat of choice…

  • Reading when I could be doing something productive – So there are a million useful and very adult things I could be doing in the evening or on a weekend at home, like cleaning, vacuuming, writing blog posts, researching the business I want to start up, calling my Nan, cleaning out my wardrobe, the list is bloody endless! But instead I will often find myself saying I’ll just read for 10 minutes, and 2 hours later half the afternoon has passed or it’s time for bed. If I’m reading a great book I really find it so difficult to drag myself away from it. But reading IS productive. It produces happiness in me 🙂
This is how I read.

This is how I read.

  • Baking cookies, cakes and slices – This year I’ve taken small steps along the Domestic Goddess route. And I do mean small steps. Tiny. Like cooking more new recipes rather than relying on the dishes I’ve been cooking since I first moved out of home. I even attempted a roast and didn’t stuff it up. Hooray! I discovered this amazing book of awesomeness and there is not a healthy recipe in sight.  The downside of all this cooking is I end up eating a lot of what I bake. But it makes me feel pretty proud knowing I made something that tastes damn good all by myself.
Snickerish

My personal fave from the No Bake Makery cookbook – Snickerish. This little baby contains an amazing ingredient called Marshmallow Fluff. Yep, as bad for you as it sounds 🙂

  • Hiding away from the world – Well, I prefer to call it hibernating but whatevs. It’s winter here in Oz and I have been well and truly taking advantage of the colder nights to stay in, cook, eat, drink red wine and watch films. This could be misconstrued by my friends as being anti-social, and occasionally I feel a little bit of guilt for not making more of an effort, but you know what? This is probably the thing I love the most. As I head into my early 30s I care less for the impression I’m making on other people, and way more about what feels comfortable for me. And staying in, especially with Rob, makes me deliriously happy. And it also makes it way easier to get up on a weekend and do something rather than lay in bed with a hangover and regrets. And believe me, I spent my 20s doing that, I think I’m done now.
Staying in is the new going out

Staying in is the new going out

  • Not going to the gym very much – I’ll let you in on a secret: ever since I had a week off the gym to rest, I have only been going 2-3 times a week. I used to be at the gym 4 times a week minimum, but you know since I’ve eased off I’ve got more people asking me if I’ve lost weight than ever before. I haven’t lost weight. At least I don’t think I have. I think I probably just look more relaxed. Dare I say healthier? Truth is I don’t need to lose any weight, and I REALLY don’t want to, so I’m just eating healthy and exercising when I want to. The benefit of working your arse off for over a year, making sure your metabolism is chugging along nicely, and not over-doing it. I still love exercise, I’m just going through a period of taking it easy and it’s working for me right now. The moment it doesn’t work, I’ll change it up.

Rock hard abs

So I guess everything in this post comes down to balance. 4 squares of chocolate a day is not a block of chocolate a day; exercising 3 times a week is way better than not exercising at all; and reading is just ace all-round 🙂

Anyone else care to share the ‘bad’ things they’re doing that make them feel great?

Stay Fit & Well,
Lisa x

Leave a Reply

