The magic mineral with massive benefits …

Posted: August 1, 2013 in Fitness
Tags: , , , , ,

Today’s blog post is extolling the virtues of an amazing mineral that I never knew we used so much of, nor how much a deficiency in it could affect our lives. I’m talking about magnesium.

Magnesium powder

Here’s the lifesaver in the flesh

I first came across it about 6 months ago when I went to a physio for the first time ever. Yep, EVER. Prior to that I had been an advocate for chiropractors for fixing my back and neck issues, but I had an ongoing shoulder problem that the chiro just wasn’t fixing on a long-term basis, so in desperation I visited Sports Focus Physio who I highly recommend to anyone living in Sydney.

My physio did the usual massage (painful!) and a few joint manipulations (love that cracking sound!) and also looked at my posture and various other things. I left with my back strapped to force my shoulders back, and a recommendation to start taking magnesium and foam rolling. I asked her about the magnesium and she said the amount of exercise I was doing and the sweating associated with that meant that the salts and minerals were being depleted and therefore the muscles were seizing up. And it can take a few weeks or even months to build magnesium levels up again so I better get started quick-smart!

Oxygen & magnesium

Did you know that low levels of magnesium can contribute to brittle bones, slow tissue repair after injury, high levels of fatigue, and even depression. I looked into the side effects of taking a magnesium supplement and they were minimal, so I jumped on the magnesium bandwagon.

Magnesium is found naturally in green leafy vegetables like spinach and swiss chard but also in nuts and seeds like pumpkin seeds. I eat a fair amount of seeds, but not a lot of spinach on a daily basis, and the amount you’d need to eat to satisfy your daily requirements is pretty ridiculous. So for me a supplement is the best way forward, and I use Blackmores magnesium powder simply because it was the first one I came across in the pharmacy. It also contains B vitamins and amino acids which also help in exercise recovery. And as a bonus it has a nice orange taste, kind of like vitamin C. Please note I am not being sponsored by Blackmores to write this post. Although perhaps I should be!  (Blackmores PR department please take note).

After just a couple of weeks of taking it daily I noticed a difference, and now I take it a few times a week after exercise and I wouldn’t be without it. Magnesium powder and foam rolling literally changed my life.

Foam rolling is the poor man’s deep-tissue massage therapist and let me tell you that while it’s damn painful (especially the legs, ooooh the legs) it really does make a difference in how you feel the next day. Foam rolling combined with taking a teaspoon of magnesium powder in water every day I exercise makes my recovery so much less painful and quicker by a country mile. Of course everybody’s different, but if you’re recovering from a chronic injury or working out a lot, maybe give them a go.

Magnesium and my foam roller - a match made in heaven

The happy couple

What would you say has aided your recovery from exercise?

Stay Fit & Well,
Lisa x

Comments
  1. I’ve been told before to try magnesium to stop my ridiculous feet from always cramping… I might have to actually go out and buy some!

  2. May I simply say what a comfort to discover a person that actually understands what they’re discussing on the web. You actually realize how to bring an issue to light and make it important. More and more people need to check this out and understand this side of your story. I was surprised you are not more popular given that you certainly possess the gift.

  3. […] jumps on my every time I’m on the floor, like it’s a game), I’ve started taking magnesium again and I’m doing yoga stretches more often, coupled with specific back exercises at the […]

Leave a Reply

