The post-holiday comedown, and how to avoid it …

Posted: August 16, 2013 in Fitness, Food, Wellbeing
Tags: , , , ,

So I just got back from a 3 and a half week holiday in the UK and Thailand, and this was my first week back at work. This is where we stayed in Thailand (yeah, I’m pretty much just bragging):

Indigo Pearl Resort in Phuket, Thailand

Indigo Pearl Resort in Phuket, Thailand

After an amazing trip that took in London, Glasgow, Manchester and Phuket, it’s strange to be back in our flat, staying in the one spot. I woke up the other morning and thought ‘this doesn’t look like the hotel room, where am I?!’.

It’s actually been really great to get back to Sydney and celebrate our engagement with all our Sydney friends, and it’s been surprisingly easy to slip back into work (god bless my awesome work colleagues) but the hard thing about being back is getting back into fitness and good eating habits.

In England, we ate a LOT of bread. I don’t normally eat much bread, and this was a shock to the system. Also, my alcohol intake went waaaay up (hello London’s boozebag culture). Combine that with no exercise to speak of, unless you count walking along the South Bank (I don’t) and dancing until the wee hours (the late-night chips from the local kebab shop probably cancelled out any benefit there) then I have done no more exercise than running through Bangkok airport (twice) to try to make our flight. We missed it, and boy did I realise how unfit I’d become in just 3 short weeks, when I was huffing and puffing fit to blow someone’s house down.

My diet for 3 weeks

My diet for 3 weeks

So now we’ve been back for 6 days and I’ve been to the gym once. You could say I’m easing my way back into it. On the food front I’ve been a lot more motivated – after all the stodge we’d been eating I was craving salads like nobody’s business, and salads I have had.

I seem to have avoided the comedown from a long holiday this time. I think the fact we’ve been out for dinner and drinks several times this week to celebrate our engagement, plus eating well and throwing myself back into work has actually all combined to make me feel ok. My advice: get engaged, you’ll feel awesome every single day for quite some time to come (until you start thinking about how much there is to plan).

And boy am I going to relish the sleep-in tomorrow!

Anyone have any other tips on how to avoid the holiday comedown?

Stay Fit & Well,
Lisa x

Leave a Reply

