What to do when your body fails you …

Posted: August 27, 2013 in Fitness
Tags: , , , , , ,

I came back from 6 days holiday in Port Douglas, Queensland on Monday, and was rushing around unpacking and sorting out the flat when I tripped over the leg of a dining room chair. This was no ordinary trip – I am now the not-so-proud owner of a purple toe that I can barely walk on without pain. I’m yet to figure out if it’s broken, sprained or just bruised, but I fear the worst. And this coincided with me wanting to get back on the exercise bandwagon after a month of travelling! Queue shaking fists at sod’s law.

Damn you toe, damn you!

Damn you toe, damn you!

But I was adamant that I would do some form of exercise last night – my body was craving it, and it was going to happen if I had to drag my gammy leg behind me, zombie-style. And that’s kind of what I did. Which inspired me to write this post.

I hope I didn't look *quite* this bad at the gym last night ...

I hope I didn’t look *quite* this bad at the gym last night …

Last night I did 10 minutes on the cross trainer at level 11 on a Hill setting, then a 20 minute upper body workout which required no feet movement – squat presses, chest presses, bicep curls, tricep dips and 5 minutes of abs. And I was so glad I went! Tonight I plan on doing another 10 minutes on the cross trainer and then a lower body workout including squats, wall sits and leg extensions. And then I will hope that my stupid toe gets better.

Of course if I had a broken leg or a stomach virus or a horrible dose of the flu, all exercise would be off the agenda. But if you are suffering from an injury to one part of the body, it IS possible to still workout. It takes more effort to work out what you can and can’t do, but it’s worth it in the end, if only for how great exercise makes you feel when you’ve done it.

My top tips for exercising when you’re not feeling the best:

  • Know when you ARE too sick to exercise, and rest up at home instead
  • If in doubt, walk (provided your health issue is not with your legs or feet)
  • Pilates and yoga can be great for strengthening problem areas but take it easy and tell your teacher if you have an issue
  • Even 10 minutes exercise is better than nothing

 

Have you ever pushed yourself too hard and exercised when you shouldn’t?

 

Stay Fit & Well,
Lisa x

Leave a Reply

