Sometimes exercise is just fun (and you never forget how to ride a bike!)

Posted: September 22, 2013 in Fitness, Wellbeing
Tags: , , , ,

So yesterday I went for a 16 km bike ride around the Bay to Bay Cycleway with a friend. We only did the Strathfield section but plan to do the whole way to Botany Bay another time. This was the first time I’d been on a bike at all since The Infamous Bike Incident of 2007 (otherwise known as the time I rode a bike in Strasbourg, France, forgot how to brake and ended up knocking an old French lady down. And then rode into a tree. I’ll never forget how to say “I’m very very sorry” in French as a result).

Picture this: the sun was shining, there was a slight breeze, the cycle path was really quiet and it was basically bliss. Kind of like this:

Awesome, right?

Awesome, right?

And the thing that surprised me? It was SO. MUCH. FUN. I didn’t even ride into any old ladies or trees! And I (mostly) kept my balance.

Don’t get me wrong, we weren’t going flat-out – there was a fair amount of talking while riding. But it was still exercise. We rode for over an hour and it didn’t SEEM like exercise.

I’ve decided I need to do more of this – not exercise for the sake of exercise, but exercise as incidental to the FUN.

But next time, I’ll invest in some padded cycling shorts …*hobbles away *…

I learnt my lesson the hard way...

I learnt my lesson the hard way…

Stay Fit & Well,
Lisa x

Leave a Reply

