Things I’m Loving This Summer

Posted: January 1, 2014 in Fitness, Food, Pregnancy
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

It’s summer in Oz and while summer is not my favourite season (try having pale skin prone to freckles and therefore skin cancer in Australia – it’s not fun), this summer I’m still finding things to love.

For starters, I’ve re-discovered swimming. And by swimming I don’t mean floating around looking mermaid-like (although that is quite fun too), I mean swimming laps at the local pool. Being pregnant means a fair amount of exercise is off the cards, especially in hot weather, so swimming is ideal. It’s a great workout as well as being a good stretch, and the perfect way to cool down when you sadly don’t have an air-conditioned flat or workplace.

Ashfield Pool

Ashfield Pool

I also quite like the feeling of lapping people who aren’t pregnant. It’s the competitive spirit coming out in me 🙂

swimming meme

It took me a few weeks to get my swimming fitness back, and get my breathing right. Now I’m swimming every Saturday and it’s become a really lovely ritual to start the weekend with.

I’m also LOVING watermelon at the moment. All the summer fruits are out in force here, but the one I’m relishing is watermelon. There’s nothing quite like it on a hot day. Thirst-quenching and sweet, I can’t get enough right now.

Watermelon

Summer lovin’

And of course the best thing about summer in Australia is summer holidays! I’ve had 12 days off so far, with another 5 to go and I tell you I could get used to this lifestyle. Pity about the bills that need paying… 🙂

Beach

Yeah, there’s always kangaroos on the beach in Australia … *cough*

 

What do you love about summer?

Stay Fit & Well,
Lisa x

Comments
  1. emmasalkild says:

    I love all the fruit too – mangoes, nectarines – mmmm. And fruit frappes.

Leave a Reply

