When I was pregnant with Harrison, I knew I had to pack a bag for the hospital and have it ready to go for when the moment came and little Googie (as we called him then) decided to make his appearance. So I started obsessively Googling what to pack in your bag. I packed everything ever suggested, and I really only needed a fraction of what I took. Some lists posted on popular baby sites even suggested you take a book, for those lulls in between contractions. I’M SORRY?!? Lulls in between contractions? THERE WEREN’T ANY!

So after I settled into having my new baby at home, I pulled together my mini ebook on pregnancy – check it out here – and whittled down the hospital packing list to the essentials.

And these are my suggestions for what to pack in your hospital bag:

    • Paperwork – your yellow card, ID, Medicare card, health insurance card, etc.
    • Lip balm
    • Hair bands/clips
    • Water bottle
    • Phone charger
    • Gatorade
    • Spare clothes for yourself and your partner for about 3 days, just in case.
    • Snack food – jelly beans are good. Not much else is.
    • Thongs/flip flops
    • iPod dock/iPod (with a good playlist on it. I still can’t talk about the fact that ‘Sexual Healing’ by Marvin Gaye came on Rob’s iPod just as I began pushing. At least it gave the midwives a laugh).
    • Heat pack
    • Socks – it can be damn cold in the hospital.
    • Singlet tops (get the Bonds nursing ones).
    • Mints/chewing gum
    • Shampoo/Conditioner/Shower gel/Moisturiser.
    • Clothes to wear home
    • Makeup – if you can be bothered.
    • Deodorant
    • Baby wipes
    • Maternity pads x 3 packs.
    • Black granny pants – at least 5 pairs. You don’t know how long you’ll be in hospital for
    • Pjs with easy access for breastfeeding.
    • Ural
    • Hairbrush
    • Nursing bras x 2
    • Dressing gown
    • Slippers
    • Nursing pads
    • Toothbrush/Toothpaste
    • Plastic bags for dirty clothes
    • Mouthwash
    • Nappies
    • Singlets x 3 for baby
    • Onesies x 3 for baby (0000 and 000 size)
    • Baby hat
    • Mittens
    • Blanket
    • Wrap
    • Baby socks

Definitely don’t take a book, magazine or any sort of entertainment for yourself. You’ll be too busy staring at your newborn baby, wondering how on earth someone so small can make such loud and strange grunting noises. It’s a newborn thing.
I just cry and boobs appear
Is there anything you’d suggest packing to help with labour and your hospital stay? I’d love to hear any other suggestions.

Stay Fit & Well,
Lisa x

Leave a Reply

